Chicago Cares is happy to welcome three new HandsOn AmeriCorps members for their 2011-2012 year of service. Today we’re talking to Christopher Konfirst, who is working with our Youth in Service program.

Have you participated in any other AmeriCorps programs?
No, this is my first time with AmeriCorps

What drew you to Chicago Cares specifically?
I was drawn to the idea of working with youth and having a hand in instilling in them the importance of service to their community.   I also thought that working with Chicago Cares would give me an opportunity to learn more about the various current issues that people within a community may face and what type of action is being taken to improve community outlooks.

Tell us about your favorite part of AmeriCorps so far.
My favorite part about AmeriCorps so far has been meeting many new people and learning about the non-profit and service fields.

What are you most excited about working on before your service year ends?
I’m looking forward to working on creating new projects and opportunities for youth to learn and serve their community.

What skills would you like to learn and take with you to your next job?
I would like to learn more about the many issues people in a community may face, the effects that these issues have on the community and individuals, and what types of things have traditionally been done to control and prevent them.

What are you plans for after AmeriCorps?
I plan to go to medical school.

