What are you doing to make Chicago better? We want to invite you to brag a little as we get warmed up for our biggest volunteering day of the year, Serve-a-thon, this June 27. Tweet or Instagram a story, photo or quote with #ImImpact to enter for a chance to win an awesome prize, like a free month of yoga at CorePower or cooking classes for 2 at Whole Foods Market. Click here for details.

To get the ball rolling, we’re sharing stories from Chicago Cares volunteers, staff and supporters about what I’m Impact means to them, in 3 short questions.

Today, meet Jackie Zamora, our shared services coordinator, and hear how volunteering helped her find a career path.

Jackie Zamora

What do you think is the biggest impact that comes from volunteering?

The biggest impact I receive when volunteering is being able to see the joy and happiness I am spreading to others. Seeing others’ smiling faces when you volunteer is something that has always brought great pleasure to me. Volunteering even an hour of your time here and there will always make an impact.

When did you decide you wanted to commit your life to public service?

In undergrad I had a difficult time trying to decide what I wanted to major in. I was one of those students who changed majors at least a few times. I found that what I always enjoyed doing with my time was volunteering. When I was in my junior year, that was when I decided I wanted to commit my life to public service.

What’s the #1 thing you’d want to tell Chicagoans?

Get out and give back to the city we all love! We all have busy lives from work to our lives at home to spending time with people we love. Sometimes trying to find time to volunteer is difficult, but it is crucial in order to meet critical needs in our city.

