This is a guest post by volunteer John Nagle.

My name is John, and I’ve been volunteering with Chicago Cares for about 9 years. I first picked a project at Ella Flagg Young Elementary, a sports league for kids, and it was pretty phenomenal. It was quick and easy to get started, and I instantly loved the pick-me-up that comes from giving back and connecting with people. Since then, I’ve volunteered at lots of Chicago Cares projects, and I’m a volunteer leader at 2 of them: Sunday Fun at HGS and Young Sports League.

A couple of weeks ago, Chicago Cares emailed me to tell me about their new Supporting Member campaign. I didn’t hesitate. I’ve been volunteering all these years, for free, and it’s so valuable to me and the kids we serve, too. I know it’s a good investment.

This Giving Tuesday, will you consider joining me and becoming a Chicago Cares Supporting Member? All it takes is $5, $10 or $25 a month, and you can invest in the volunteer programs that make such a big difference in Chicago.

 

